Saskatchewan Pain Society - SaskPain              

             S   a   s   k     P   a   i   n            

PPG Executive

Meet the Executive Team of the SRNA Professional Practice Group in Pain Management (PPG)
Ryan Geisler - President
Glen-mary Christopher – Past President
Glen-mary has been a Registered Nurse since 2003, with experience in emergency, critical care, and education. She is interested in all areas of pain management, particularly acute and procedural pain. As chairperson of Sunrise Health Region’s Pain Management Committee, she has been privileged to work with interprofessional team members to improve pain management in Sunrise. Glen-mary loves talking to people about all the ways we can eliminate or reduce pain. She is also passionate about reading research and writing policies and procedures to support best nursing practice.
“Being involved with the PPG is a great outlet for my passion for quality improvement and reducing painful experiences in healthcare.”
Anna Power Horlick - Secretary
Anna began her Nursing career in Halifax, Nova Scotia with an interest in orthopaedics. She relocated to Victoria, B.C., working again in orthopaedics and after moving to Saskatoon spent the next 20 years in post anaesthesia care at Royal University and St. Paul’s Hospitals, which lead to a keen interest in acute and chronic pain management. Anna worked as a program planner and Client Care Coordinator for 10 years at the Saskatoon Health Region’s (SHR) Chronic Pain Centre. Anna holds a Master’s Degree in Nursing from the University of Saskatchewan.
Anna is a member of the SHR Tri- Site Interprofessional Paediatric Pain Management Committee, the Canadian Pain Society, The Canadian Pain Coalition (Member Group SRNA), and the Saskatchewan Registered Nurses Association (SRNA) Pain Management Professional Practice Group (PPG), as well as Conference committee member for an annual Provincial Pain Management conference with the College of Nursing Continuing Education Department. Anna also served on the Saskatoon Health Region Ethics Committee. Anna's work with the SRNA Pain Management PPG has been successful in gaining Provincial Health Ministry support and Anna was chosen to represent the PPG at the National Pain Summit in Ottawa, 2012.
Susan Koskie - Treasurer
Susan has been a Registered Nurse since 1981, and has worked full time at the Yorkton Regional Health Centre since graduation. She enjoyed her first 10 years of nursing practice on the surgical floor, and has spent the last 22 years continuing her learning journey in a fantastic 6 bed ICU/CCU. Susan’s interest in pain management was initiated by her experience in acute care but since becoming involvement with the PPG has realized that acute care is just one piece of the gigantic puzzle in managing pain.

“I have learned so much all ready and look forward to participating in moving the management of pain forward in this province. I am currently the treasurer of the Pain Management PPG; and sit as a member on our Sunrise Regional Pain Management Committee. My other passions include my family, my cabin and my pathetic attempt at the game of golf.”
Karen Juckes - Member-at-large
Karen received her BScN from the University of Saskatchewan in 1984 and her MN from University of Saskatchewan in 2001. Karen is a currently a faculty member with the University of Saskatchewan, College of Nursing at the Regina site. Her primary teaching focus is in the area of child and adolescent health. Karen’s research interests are in the area of pain management and interprofessional education (IPE). Prior to her appointment with the University of Saskatchewan, Karen was employed by the Regina Qu’Appelle Health Region as a Clinical Development Educator in pediatrics and pain management. During that time, she played a key role in the establishment of the RQHR Interdisciplinary Pain Management Committee. This committee developed pain management protocols and provided pain education for health care professionals in the region.
Karen belongs to an interuniversity faculty team who organize yearly IPE sessions in pain management for students in nursing, medicine, pharmacy, physiotherapy, psychology, social work and kinesiology health studies. Karen received the SRNA Millennium Award for Innovation in Nursing and the Canadian Pain Society Interprofessional Nursing Project Award in 2013. Karen is currently the chair of the interdisciplinary planning committee for the 5th “Implementing Best Pain Management Practices Conference” to be held in November 2014.
Erika Stebbings - Member-at-large Stebbings
Erika has been a Registered Nurse since 2005 and currently works as a clinical nurse educator for the Saskatoon Health Region.   She has worked a number of rural and urban settings focusing on respirology, cardiology, neurology and medicine. Erika is passionate about pain management because it impacts all facets of healthcare, for all people experiencing pain. Pain is a large driver for ED visits and re-admissions, thus demonstrating that improvement in managment techniques can have great impact on the health care system at large. Effective pain managment needs to be a fundamental human right. She has been a member of the Pain PPG since 2011 and currently provides support to the team as the webmaster for the SaskPain website. 
Eunice AbuduAdam - Member-at-large